Tags

,

Klimt's Silhouette

This is one of a pair of Klimt-inspired silhouettes from Jill Oxton’s Cross Stitch and Bead Weaving issue 96. It’s using two strands on 14 count plastic canvas. The instructions called for three strands and I usually use three on plastic canvas, but I wasn’t thinking about it when I started. By the time I realized that I should be using three it was too late for me to want to start over. The woman stitched up very quickly; I know I didn’t, but I felt like I spent more time on the blackwork background than I did on her. I never really felt like I understood the pattern of the blackwork, which made it more difficult than it needed to be. There’s a left facing silhouette that I’m probably going to do, either as a separate bookmark from this one or attached and facing her; it’s not in the picture, but I do have enough canvas on the right to do either one.

