Tags

Yellow Submarine

This is the Yellow Submarine from Blackbird Designs; they have several Beatles-inspired designs. I’m a big fan of the Yellow Submarine movie (I own both DVD releases, a picture book, a calendar, and some figures), and when I saw this, I couldn’t resist it. I’m not sure what the fabric is; I picked it up on clearance at Joann a few years ago. I’m pretty sure it’s 32 count; I don’t know the manufacturer or the name of the color. I did make a few changes to the pattern. I used DMC floss instead of Gentle Arts Sampler threads and mostly chose my own colors instead of using the equivalents given. I changed the first six in 1966 to the darker blue instead of the lighter blue, and I changed the right flower in the pot on top of the submarine to be red on the outside instead of yellow (the asymmetry bothered me). I also replaced the flower that was on the top of the submarine with an approximation of the original design.

The colors I used were:

DMC (Gentle Arts)
420 (Apple Cider)
472 (Avocado)
501 (Bayberry)
444 (Butternut Squash)
3822 (Caramel Corn)
3819 (Endive)
3787 (Garden Gate)
3852 (Harvest Basket)
972 (Harvest Moon)
3024 (Lexington Green)
3766 (Mountain Mist)
498 (Pomegranate)
677 (Roasted Marshmallow)
365 (Tin Bucket)

For the design on the upper part of the sub, I used 498 for the red, 996 for the blue, and 209 for the purple (all DMC).

