Tags

Elegant Peacock

This peacock is from Just Cross Stitch April 2015; the designer is Elizabeth Spurlock. It is intended for my sister; I was in the grocery with her and trying to decide whether or not I wanted to buy it, and she said she liked and was interested in the peacock on the cover. I had an appropriate piece of fabric and everything except the braid for the backstitching, so I decided to do it. I started this at the very end of February, and finished it today; it took me about five months with a few breaks for other things along the way.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do about framing it. According to the chart, it’s 7″ x 11 1/8″, but according to two tape measures, it’s more like 6 7/8″ x 11″; I’m not sure what’s going on with that. The framing method of the sample piece involved adding fabric out past 9 x 12 and stapling it to a 9×12 canvas. I like the way it looks, but don’t think I’m quite able to finish it that way and have it look like that (I’m not sure of my ability to choose properly coordinating fabrics, it requires quilting tools and a staple gun, and a sewing machine would be helpful).

