Tags

Save the Stitches - block 1

This is block one of the Save the Stitches blackwork sampler from Blackwork Journey. She’s releasing it block by block; I think the overview and block one were released in January, and blocks two and three were released in February. The bulk of it is black (DMC 310); I substituted red (DMC E815) for gold, blue (DMC E334) for silver, and purple (DMC E3837) for copper. The red beads are Mill Hill antique glass beads (03049). I wanted to use a deeper blue, but it didn’t show up against the black. I also thought about using the same color thread with the metallics, but I didn’t think there was enough contrast (and I’m not sure about the purple; it doesn’t show up as well as I might like and didn’t really show up in the picture). It’s on 14 count Aida, because I had a large piece of it at hand; I didn’t realize that this was best suited to over two on a higher count fabric. If I stick with this, it will be my largest project to date. I think I’m going to post it block by block so I can feel like I’m making progress.

